S.L.A.M. January 2010 issue

16 Jan

I finally got my copy of SLAM Magazine! It’s crazy, almost the entire issue is filled with my articles and photos, plus they named me Artist of the Month! Below are some pages from the magazine, but if you want to get a better look go to http://artslammagazine.com/?page_id=24 and click on the January 2010 issue. I did a story about the Genitorturers with an interview with Gen X, as well as a story about fashion designer Raven Reda and a fashion spread in the centerfold to go with it. The cover photo is one of mine from the Genitorturers show at The Ritz in Ybor City, and then I did a quick shoot with Gen before they went on stage, so that’s included with the article.

Aside from that I’ve been really busy planning the fashion and art portion of this upcoming event, Integrity in the Arts, which is to take place on January 30th at Gasoline Alley. Pretty exciting! I’m working on that project with fashion designer Joanna Coblentz, who I also did a fashion shoot with a couple weeks ago. Photos from that shoot coming soon! They will be in the March issue of SLAM Magazine.

We shot Joanna’s steam punk designs with 7 models and a whole army of makeup artists and hair stylists, and the location was Queen’s Head Bar on Central Ave and 25th St. in St. Pete. It’s such a beautiful place with truly extraordinary decor. The owner is super nice and welcoming, so even though we had a bunch of half-naked chicks in the bar alongside all of his customers he didn’t blink an eye. I even asked him at one point if he was okay with it and he just gave me this big grin and said “OF COURSE!” I think he was having just as much fun watching as we were having shooting! His name is Paul… definitely check out his place. The food is incredible and they have a nice wine list too. I’m giving him copies of all the photos and he’s going to frame them and hang them on the walls, so he’s just as excited as everyone else involved. SWEET!

Leave a comment